Aron Taylor-Smith


The younger brother of former VX Racing BTCC ace Gavin Smith, Árón Smith began his car racing career in the Renault UK Clio Cup in 2007, off the back of a three-year stint in karting.

Three seasons yielded a best championship finish of fourth place in 2009, a victory at Donington Park and two further podiums – as well as the 2008 Renault Clio Winter Cup laurels.

A switch to the Clio Cup Italia in 2010 saw Smith snare a brace of triumphs and fourth position in the title chase, before a return to the UK series the following year resulted in a championship challenge and second spot in the final classification.

The Irishman picked up a point during a one-off BTCC appearance for Triple Eight Race Engineering at Knockhill that same season, a precursor to joining the championship full-time in 2012 with Motorbase Performance, clinching his maiden victory in the Brands Hatch finale and winding up inside the top ten in the drivers’ points both that year and the next.

More success followed for Smith in 2014 as he made the switch to a Team BMR Volkswagen CC, with two wins behind the wheel. A further six podiums and 11th in the championship in 2015 acted as a springboard for Árón into a third season in the CC for 2016 with new entrant Team BKR.

Two early season podiums showed promise, then came a hard-earned win at Rockingham, much to the delight of both Aron and his fledgling team. For 2017, Taylor-Smith moves to MG RCIB Insurance Racing, partnering Daniel Lloyd.

Season Results

Event Session Position
Brands Hatch Indy Qualifying 19th
Race 1 14th
Race 2 15th
Race 3 12th
Donington Park Qualifying 11th
Race 1 24th
Race 2 18th
Race 3 9th
Thruxton Qualifying 23rd
Race 1 20th
Race 2 27th
Race 3 25th
Oulton Park Qualifying 25th
Race 1 16th
Race 2 12th
Race 3 25th
Croft Qualifying 6th
Snetterton Qualifying 25th
Race 1 DNF
Race 2 27th
Race 3 DNF
Knockhill Qualifying 14th
Race 1 15th
Race 2 DNF
Race 3 24th
Rockingham Qualifying 13th
Race 1 16th
Race 2 15th
Race 3 20th
Silverstone Qualifying 27th
Race 1 19th
Race 2 14th
Race 3 17th
Brands Hatch GP Qualifying 21st
Race 1 23rd
Race 2 13th
Race 3 20th

Driver Info

Nationality: Irish
Date of Birth: 19 November 1989
Place of Birth: Dublin, Ireland
Lives: Dublin, Ireland
Team: MG Racing RCIB Insurance
Car: MG6

BTCC Debut: Knockhill, 4 September 2011

BTCC Races: 177
BTCC Wins: 4
BTCC Podiums: 18
BTCC Poles: 1
BTCC Fastest Laps: 3

Driver Titles

Driver Gallery

2017 Driver Lineup


Latest Tweets