Jason Plato


Jason Plato has won more races than any other driver in the history of the BTCC.

Making his debut for Williams-Renault in 1997, Plato sent shockwaves down the pit-lane by taking pole position at his very first attempt at Donington Park, ultimately finishing third overall in his maiden BTCC season. He remained with the Renault squad until it withdrew from the championship at the end of 1999.

After moving to the factory Vauxhall outfit alongside Yvan Muller, Plato secured his first title in 2001 before leaving the series for two years.

Returning in 2004 with new manufacturer SEAT, he continued to notch up victories at an impressive rate but did not convert them into a second championship for his employer  although he did become the first driver to win a BTCC race behind the wheel of a diesel-powered car in 2008.

Driving an RML/Racing Silverline Chevrolet, Plato finally tallied his second BTCC title in 2010 before signing for the Triple Eight-run MG squad in 2012. He finished third in the championship in 2012 and 2013 and then helped MG to win the coveted Manufacturers’ title in 2014 as he placed runner-up in the Drivers’ classification.

For 2015, Jason joined the fledgling and ambitious Team BMR, piloting a Volkswagen CC to second overall once again. In 2016, Plato stayed with BMR but the outfit switched to a factory-backed Subaru Levorg GT.

The team started slowly but came into its own as the new package started to come together. Plato achieved a podium hat-trick at Oulton Park, and a double rostrum at Croft before taking to the top step to cap his 500th BTCC appearance in race one at Knockhill. He was one of eight drivers in contention to win the overall Drivers’ title heading into the final weekend of the season but fell just short.

With a season under its belt, as well as a strong end to 2016, the Subaru Levorg will surely be one to watch as Plato continues his search for a third BTCC crown.


Season Results

Event Session Position
Brands Hatch Indy Qualifying 18th
Race 1 12th
Race 2 DNF
Donington Park Qualifying 15th
Race 1 DNF
Race 2 20th
Race 3 16th
Thruxton Qualifying 21st
Race 1 23rd
Race 2 25th
Race 3 28th
Oulton Park Qualifying 17th
Race 1 12th
Race 2 11th
Race 3 11th
Croft Qualifying 7th
Race 1 10th
Race 2 6th
Race 3 3rd
Snetterton Qualifying 9th
Race 1 5th
Race 2 24th
Race 3 16th
Knockhill Qualifying 1st
Race 1 1st
Race 2 2nd
Race 3 6th
Rockingham Qualifying 10th
Race 1 10th
Race 2 4th
Race 3 3rd
Silverstone Qualifying 11th
Race 1 23rd
Race 2 15th
Race 3 DNF
Brands Hatch GP Qualifying 10th
Race 1 28th
Race 2 24th
Race 3 22nd

Driver Info

Nationality: British
Date of Birth: 14 October 1967
Lives: Oxford, England
Team: Adrian Flux Subaru Racing
Car: Levorg GT

BTCC Debut: Donington Park, 31 March 1997

BTCC Races: 540
BTCC Wins: 96
BTCC Podiums: 229
BTCC Poles: 50
BTCC Fastest Laps: 86

Driver Titles

2010 British Touring Car Championship
2001 British Touring Car Championship
1996 Renault Spider Cup Championship
1991 Formula Renault Euroseries

Driver Gallery

2017 Driver Lineup


Latest Tweets