PDA

View Full Version : Links in posts?



daveylad1978
4th Feb 2008, 09:15 PM
If I'm not mistaken, I thought links to external sites weren't allowed, so how come 2.0 Civic is bombarding us with constant links to an unofficial touring car website in his new threads? :confused:

hoppers30040
4th Feb 2008, 09:18 PM
If I'm not mistaken, I thought links to external sites weren't allowed, so how come 2.0 Civic is bombarding us with constant links to an unofficial touring car website in his new threads? :confused:
yeah i think he should not post links.

Andy

2.0 Civic
4th Feb 2008, 09:39 PM
Its called being decent to other fans who enjoy more forms of racing than the BTCC, DTM-V8s-WTCC-STCC Etc.Etc

And I think Ed1 has seen these posts and I thinks he's ok with them, You cant post links onto the main BTCC section!!

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Eunos
4th Feb 2008, 09:41 PM
Basically any BTCC news you see on other Websites is not official until it is posted here.

I got told off once for doing that.

Not sure bout the rule of other M/Sports though.

abx1
6th Feb 2008, 10:44 PM
Its called being decent to other fans who enjoy more forms of racing than the BTCC, DTM-V8s-WTCC-STCC Etc.Etc

And I think Ed1 has seen these posts and I thinks he's ok with them, You cant post links onto the main BTCC section!!

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

No Ed1 is not OK with it, he deleted several of your posts/ links.

if you read the rules, it quite clearly states that you are not to post material that is not factual and or you do not own the copyright to.
A link to a website is not factual and YOU do not own the copyright to it, so therefore is is against the rules

2.0 Civic
7th Feb 2008, 12:02 AM
No Ed1 is not OK with it, he deleted several of your posts/ links.

if you read the rules, it quite clearly states that you are not to post material that is not factual and or you do not own the copyright to.
A link to a website is not factual and YOU do not own the copyright to it, so therefore is is against the rules

All my posts/links arent deleted. So clearly Ed1 is ok with it, Its nothing to do with the news for the BTCC, As far as he see's it ony helpful banter towards other series around the world, He wont let links on the BTCC.net into the BTCC Section of the forums!!!

Diddyman
7th Feb 2008, 01:42 AM
Basically any BTCC news you see on other Websites is not official until it is posted here.

So any news on Autosport.com or crash.net that is not here on BTCC.net is not true???

I think not!

redshoes
7th Feb 2008, 08:50 AM
As far as he see's it ony helpful banter towards other series around the world, He wont let links on the BTCC.net into the BTCC Section of the forums!!!
Has Ed1 actually told you this, or posting you assumptions as facts again?

dannybo
7th Feb 2008, 12:57 PM
All my posts/links arent deleted. So clearly Ed1 is ok with it, Its nothing to do with the news for the BTCC, As far as he see's it ony helpful banter towards other series around the world, He wont let links on the BTCC.net into the BTCC Section of the forums!!!
^This doesnt make sense to me?
Surely the only links you are allowed to use are btcc.net ones!?!

Its links to sites other than btcc.net that I thought was not allowed.

Editor1
7th Feb 2008, 01:32 PM
2.0 Civic: yet again, as is the case with a lot of what you post, you presume incorrectly.

I'm not all right with it as it is totally against forum rules (which couldn't actually be put in simpler English).

All such threads (as far as I can tell) have now been deleted and you (for about the fifth time, only now under your latest name of 2.0 Civic) have been banned.

With respect, it's probably best you went and joined another website.

Ed1

cookingfat
7th Feb 2008, 02:22 PM
Ed1 Rocks!!!!

topgear1
7th Feb 2008, 03:57 PM
Can i please ask what the harm in posting links to other websites is about?
does it really matter if we get news from other websites??

Editor1
7th Feb 2008, 04:29 PM
Can i please ask what the harm in posting links to other websites is about?
does it really matter if we get news from other websites??
I'm not going to go into the reasons/discuss business here (they are too many). However, it's worth pointing out that we're not the only site to employ such a policy, particularly when so much time and effort goes into creating and maintaining what we have now got.

Thanks

Editor1

laurat
7th Feb 2008, 07:03 PM
Ed1 Rocks!!!!
absolutely couldn't agree more - you go there Editor 1!

bigred
7th Feb 2008, 08:30 PM
is it not possible to log his ip address and stop him from reinventing himself under some other name

would save everyone a lot of hassle

dannybo
8th Feb 2008, 12:37 AM
is it not possible to log his ip address and stop him from reinventing himself under some other name

would save everyone a lot of hassle
You can inadvertantly ban several innocent parties doing it that way.

BTCCROCKS
8th Feb 2008, 10:34 AM
Also, a different computer, can be used, to access the forums, so it is a difficult thing to do

topgear1
8th Feb 2008, 04:02 PM
is it not possible to log his ip address and stop him from reinventing himself under some other name

would save everyone a lot of hassle

does it really matter.

why should somone be banned just for getting things wrong- at least he speaks his mind and doesnt hide behind false thoughts.

laurat
8th Feb 2008, 04:22 PM
does it really matter.

why should somone be banned just for getting things wrong- at least he speaks his mind and doesnt hide behind false thoughts.
he broke the rules though many times after he'd been told not to - i know most of us have at some point, but obviously he done it one too many

Editor1
8th Feb 2008, 04:48 PM
With respect, anyone joining any forum surely does so on the understanding that there are some rules in place to keep disruption to a minimum (for other members and those running the site).

Alas, the person in question had been banned on several occasions before using different names having received plenty of warning.

Ed1

topgear1
8th Feb 2008, 05:17 PM
ok. thanks for that.