Honda first entered the BTCC in 1991 as the family-run Team Dynamics outfit. The father-and-son pairing of Steve and Matt Neal has gone on to achieve incredible success – in 1999, Matt became the first Independent race-winner in the Super Touring era, and Team Dynamics hasn’t looked back since.

Team Dynamics received official Manufacturer support from Honda for the first time in 2010 and began competing under the Honda Yuasa Racing banner in 2012. The squad’s impressive tally of BTCC titles includes five overall Drivers’ and six overall Teams’ championships, from more than 500 race starts.

Gordon Shedden claimed Drivers’ glory with Honda Yuasa Racing in 2012 and came tantalisingly close to successfully retaining it in 2013. A switch from the Civic hatchback to the new Civic Tourer model for 2014 presented Dynamics with a different challenge – but as ever, they were still firmly in contention and making history with the first podiums and wins for an estate-style car in the BTCC.

2015 was another historic year for Honda in the series as the hotly-anticipated Civic Type R piloted by Neal and Shedden sped to the Manufacturers’ laurels, with the Scot clinching a second Drivers’ crown in dramatic fashion in the final race. The pair partner each other for the seventh successive campaign as Halfords returns to the Honda Racing fold in 2016.

Gordon Shedden is the champion incumbent and returns with Honda for 2017 alongside long-time team-mate and fellow triple-champ Matt Neal. With an intensive winter testing programme and a chassis-engine-driver combination proven many times over, there is no reason to believe Halfords Yuasa Racing’s challenge will in any way weaken. The newly-liveried stealth black Civic Type R with signature orange flashes is certainly the car with the target on its rear bumper.

Season Results

Gordon Shedden – CHAMPION

Event Session Position
Brands Hatch Indy Qualifying 2nd
Race 1 2nd
Race 2 1st
Race 3
Donington Park Qualifying 4th
Race 1 11th
Race 2 4th
Race 3 2nd
Thruxton Qualifying 11th
Race 1 DNF
Race 2 4th
Race 3 DNF
Oulton Park Qualifying 5th
Race 1 4th
Race 2 4th
Race 3 23rd
Croft Qualifying 15th
Race 1 15th
Race 2 13th
Race 3 22nd
Snetterton Qualifying 1st
Race 1 2nd
Race 2 10th
Race 3 1st
Knockhill Qualifying 51st
Race 1 9th
Race 2 9th
Race 3 4th
Rockingham Qualifying 1st
Race 1 1st
Race 2 10th
Race 3 2nd
Silverstone Qualifying 10th
Race 1 23rd
Race 2 8th
Race 3 1st
Brands Hatch GP Qualifying 7th
Race 1 5th
Race 2 3rd
Race 3 3rd


2013 BTCC Manufacturers/Constructors & Teams championships
2012 BTCC Drivers’, Manufacturers/Constructors & Teams championships
2011 BTCC Drivers’, Manufacturers/Constructors & Teams championships
2010 BTCC Teams & Manufacturer/Constructor championships
2006 BTCC Drivers’ & Teams’, plus Independent Drivers’ & Teams’ championships
2005 BTCC Drivers’ & Teams’, plus Independent Drivers’ & Teams’ championships
2000 BTCC Independent Drivers’ Championship (Michelin Independents Cup)
1999 BTCC Independent Drivers’ Championship (Michelin Independents Cup)
1995 BTCC Independent Drivers’ Championship (Total Cup for Privateers)
1993 BTCC Independent Drivers’ Championship (TOCA Challenge Cup)

Team Stats

Team: Halfords Yuasa Racing
Car: Honda Civic Type R
Team Members: Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal
Drivers: 2
First Season: 1993

Races: 593
Wins: 103
Podiums: 268

Fastest Laps: 89

First Win: 1999
Constructors Wins: 4
Championship Wins: 4

Team Info

Team Principal: Steve Neal
Phone:  01386 556122
Team Address: Team Dynamics
Race Shop  – Unit 5E, Pershore Trading Estate, Pershore, Worcestershire, WR10 2DD

Team Images

Sorry, no images found


Latest Tweets