The manufacturer-backed MG outfit is run by Triple Eight Race Engineering – a squad with an illustrious motorsport history dating back to 1996. With 22 titles to its name, Triple Eight joined forces with MG to bring the MG6 onto the grid in 2012 with double champion Jason Plato at the wheel. Incredibly, Plato won in only the car’s third ever race, but despite often having the fastest package over the 2012 and 2013 campaigns, the team fell just short of adding to its tally of championships.

For 2014, MG KX Momentum Racing retained its 2013 line-up of Plato and impressive series newcomer Sam Tordoff, who had achieved a podium on his first weekend with the team. Both drivers claimed wins and pole positions, with Plato scooping the runner-up spot in the drivers’ standings. It was an historic year for MG, as the combined efforts of both drivers proved sufficient to bring the coveted manufacturers’ crown to the marque for the first time.

In 2015, two new drivers piloted the MG6. Andrew Jordan and Jack Goff notched up nine podiums between them, as the latter secured his breakthrough BTCC victory at Snetterton. In 2016, another young line-up was selected, with Josh Cook and BTCC rookie Ashley Sutton leading the charge for the manufacturer.

Sutton’s first season in the championship was a fruitful one as he garnered a race win and a couple of impressive pole positions on his way to a poignant Jack Sears Trophy win in the year of the inaugural champion’s passing. Cook, meanwhile reached the podium twice in what was a strong campaign.

For 2017, it’s all change as Aron Taylor-Smith and Daniel Lloyd take the reigns of the team’s two MG6s.

Season Results

Aron Taylor-Smith

Event Session Position
Brands Hatch Indy Qualifying 19th
Race 1 14th
Race 2 15th
Race 3 12th
Donington Park Qualifying 11th
Race 1 24th
Race 2 18th
Race 3 9th
Thruxton Qualifying 23rd
Race 1 20th
Race 2 27th
Race 3 25th
Oulton Park Qualifying 25th
Race 1 16th
Race 2 12th
Race 3 25th
Croft Qualifying 6th
Snetterton Qualifying 25th
Race 1 DNF
Race 2 27th
Race 3 DNF
Knockhill Qualifying 14th
Race 1 15th
Race 2 DNF
Race 3 24th
Rockingham Qualifying 13th
Race 1 16th
Race 2 15th
Race 3 20th
Silverstone Qualifying 27th
Race 1 19th
Race 2 14th
Race 3 17th
Brands Hatch GP Qualifying 21st
Race 1 23rd
Race 2 13th
Race 3 20th

Josh Cook

Event Session Position
Brands Hatch Indy Qualifying 21st
Race 1 13th
Race 2 7th
Race 3 26th
Donington Park Qualifying 17th
Race 1 10th
Race 2 4th
Race 3 7th
Thruxton Qualifying 17th
Race 1 DNF
Race 2 30th
Race 3 22nd
Oulton Park Qualifying 8th
Race 1 8th
Race 2 6th
Race 3 DNF
Croft Qualifying 5th
Race 1 7th
Race 2 23rd
Race 3 23rd
Snetterton Qualifying 20th
Race 1 DNF
Race 2 28th
Race 3 DNF
Knockhill Qualifying 11th
Race 1 12th
Race 2 DNF
Race 3 29th
Rockingham Qualifying 8th
Race 1 4th
Race 2 DNF
Race 3 DNF
Silverstone Qualifying 18th
Race 2 18th
Race 3 DNF
Brands Hatch GP Qualifying 29th
Race 1 25th
Race 2 26th
Race 3 DNF


2014 BTCC Manufacturer/Constructor
2011 BTCC Independents Drivers’ & Teams championships
2009 BTCC Teams & Manufacturer/Constructor
2008 BTCC Teams, Manufacturers & Drivers (with Fabrizio Giovanardi)
2007 BTCC Manufacturers & Drivers (with Fabrizio Giovanardi)
2005 BTCC Manufacturers Championship
2004 BTCC Teams, Manufacturers & Drivers (with James Thompson)
2003 BTCC Teams, Manufacturers & Drivers (with Yvan Muller)
2002 BTCC Teams, Manufacturers & Drivers (with James Thompson)
2001 BTCC Teams, Manufacturers & Drivers (with Jason Plato)

Team Stats

Team: MG Racing RCIB Insurance
Car: MG6
Team Members: Ashley Sutton, Josh Cook
Drivers: 2
First Season: 1997

Races: 586
Wins: 132
Podiums: 405

Fastest Laps: 116

First Win: 1996
Constructors Wins: 6
Championship Wins: 6

Team Info

Team Principal: Ian Harrison
Phone: 01295 768880
Team Address: Triple Eight Race Engineering Ltd, Greatworth Park, Banbury, Oxon, OX17 2HB


MG Motor UK


Latest Tweets