Based near Brands Hatch, Motorbase Performance has competed in the BTCC since 2006. Having raced Honda, SEAT and BMW machinery in the past, Motorbase has chosen the Ford Focus to contest the BTCC since 2011, propelling it to multiple victories and podium finishes.

Although the team struggled over the first half of 2013, developments to its NGTC Focus and the addition of a third car to its assault for Tom Onslow-Cole saw the Airwaves Racing-branded outfit finish the campaign as a front-runner once again.

Mat Jackson was a consistent contender in 2014 and whilst Motorbase sat out the opening half of 2015 on financial grounds, when the squad returned mid-season, Jackson tallied four victories and four further rostrums from the final five race weekends. He was joined by former BTCC champion Andrew Jordan in 2016 for a full-on title attack.

As it transpired, Motorbase achieved its best yet in the BTCC in 2016, securing both Independent Teams’ and Independent Drivers’ honours via Jordan.

For 2017, the outfit underwent a rebrand – with a striking new look – following the addition of Shredded Wheat as title sponsor across all three cars. Jackson returned for an eighth consecutive season with the Kent-based operation, accompanied by the experienced Martin Depper and new boy Luke Davenport.

In 2018, Motorbase introduced the newly-facelifted Ford Focus RS, with Tom Chilton partnered by James Cole at Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher and Sam Tordoff lining up for Team GardX Racing with Motorbase. Chilton drove consistently well on the way to third in the Drivers’ Championship, with a victory at Knockhill, while the rapid Tordoff was routinely out of luck but nonetheless tallied a win and a further podium at Silverstone.

Chilton remained with the team in 2019, joined by Ollie Jackson and Nicolas Hamilton, the latter competing under the ROKiT Racing with Motorbase banner for the first eight events before Michael Caine got behind the wheel for the final six rounds.

The team will race the new Ford Focus ST in 2020, with a three-car line-up comprising Rory Butcher, Ollie Jackson and Andy Neate.


Season Results

Andy Neate

Event Session Position
Donington Park Qualifying 21st
Race 1 20th
Race 2 18th
Race 3 19th
Brands Hatch GP Qualifying 23rd
Race 1 19th
Race 2 14th
Race 3 18th
Oulton Park Qualifying 23rd
Race 1 15th
Race 2 19th
Race 3 20th
Knockhill Qualifying 24th
Race 1 DNF
Race 2 DNF
Race 3 20th
Thruxton Qualifying DSQ
Race 1 DSQ
Race 2 DSQ
Race 3 DSQ

Ollie Jackson

Event Session Position
Donington Park Qualifying 13th
Race 1 17th
Race 2 11th
Race 3 5th
Brands Hatch GP Qualifying 3rd
Race 1 3rd
Race 2 5th
Race 3 DNF
Oulton Park Qualifying 16th
Race 1 13th
Race 2 15th
Race 3 19th
Knockhill Qualifying 21st
Race 1 16th
Race 2 13th
Race 3 DNF
Thruxton Qualifying 15th
Race 1 14th
Race 2 14th
Race 3 13th

Rory Butcher

Event Session Position
Donington Park Qualifying 6th
Race 1 3rd
Race 2 2nd
Race 3 11th
Brands Hatch GP Qualifying 1st
Race 1 DNF
Race 2 4th
Race 3 DNF
Oulton Park Qualifying 1st
Race 1 1st
Race 2 2nd
Race 3 8th
Knockhill Qualifying 6th
Race 1 5th
Race 2 10th
Race 3 1st
Thruxton Qualifying 6th
Race 1 6th
Race 2 5th
Race 3 3rd


2016 BTCC Independent Drivers’ & Teams’ Champions

Team Stats

Team: Motorbase Performance
Car: Ford Focus ST
Drivers: Rory Butcher, Ollie Jackson, Andy Neate
First Season: 2006

Races: 419
Wins: 30
Podiums: 97

Poles: 5
Fastest Laps: 30

First Win: 2009
Championship Wins: 2 Independents’ titles

Team Info

Team Principal: David Bartrum
Phone: 01732 822266
Team Address: Motorbase, Unit 2, Tower Industrial Estate, London Road, Wrotham, Kent, TN15 7NS



Latest Tweets