Based near Brands Hatch in Kent, Motorbase Performance has been competing in the BTCC since 2006. Having raced Honda, SEAT and BMW machinery in the past, Motorbase has chosen the Ford Focus to contest the BTCC since 2011, propelling it to multiple victories and podium finishes.

Although the team struggled over the first half of 2013, developments to its NGTC Focus and the addition of a third car to its assault for Tom Onslow-Cole saw the Airwaves Racing-branded outfit finish the campaign as front-runners once again.

Mat Jackson was a consistent contender in 2014 and whilst Motorbase sat out the opening half of 2015 on financial grounds, when the squad returned mid-season, Jackson tallied four wins and four rostrums from the final five race weekends. He was joined by former BTCC champion Andrew Jordan in 2016 for a full-on title attack.

As it transpired, Motorbase achieved their best yet in the BTCC in 2016, winning maiden titles – Independent Teams’ and Independent Drivers’ honours via Jordan.

For 2017, the outfit underwent a rebrand – with a striking new look – following the addition of Shredded Wheat as title sponsor across all three cars. Mat Jackson returned for an eighth consecutive season with the Kent-based operation and he was accompanied by the experienced Martin Depper and new boy Luke Davenport.

In 2018, the team became a two car line-up – consisting of the newly-facelifted Ford Focus RS – with James Cole returning to the fold and Tom Chilton joining him at Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher. The latter drove consistently well on the way to third in the Drivers’ Championship, with a victory at Knockhill. He stayed with the Motorbase-backed team in 2019 and set himself the target of securing the Drivers’ crown and was joined by Motorbase returnee Ollie Jackson in the sister RS.

For 2019, Nic Hamilton joined ROKiT Racing with Motorbase.

Season Results

Nic Hamilton

Event Session Position
Brands Hatch Indy Qualifying 20th
Race 1 20th
Race 2 26th
Race 3 20th
Donington Park Qualifying 26th
Race 1 DNF
Race 2 19th
Race 3 DNF
Thruxton Qualifying 24th
Race 1 24th
Race 2 DNF
Race 3 24th
Croft Qualifying 30th
Race 1 24th
Race 2 28th
Race 3 20th
Oulton Park Qualifying 25th
Race 1 23rd
Race 2 25th
Race 3 19th
Snetterton Qualifying 22nd
Race 1 22nd
Race 2 20th
Race 3 18th
Thruxton 2 Qualifying 24th
Race 1 26th
Race 2 27th
Race 3 DNF
Knockhill Qualifying 27th
Race 1 DNF
Race 2 26th
Race 3 25th

Team Stats

Races: 30
Wins: 0
Podiums: 0

Poles: 0
Fastest Laps: 0

Team Info

Team Principal: David Bartrum
Team Address: Motorbase, Unit 2, Tower Industrial Estate, London Road, Wrotham, Kent, TN15 7NS


Latest Tweets