2016 saw Team HARD run by Tony Gilham’s operation, with three Toyota Avensis’ for Jake Hill, Michael Epps and Chris Smiley – subsequently replaced by Michael Caine – running under the RCIB Insurance Racing and TLC Racing banners respectively.

Gilham himself stepped into the breach from Rockingham, after Caine suffered a back injury at Knockhill.

Multiple points finishes were cause for optimism last season, and Gilham’s outfit will be looking for more this year with a trio of Volkswagen CCs back in the fold – cars the squad previously built in 2013.

Hill returns with TAG Racing and Epps is joined by Will Burns at Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing for 2017.

In 2018, the team will run as two teams of two facelifted Volkswagen CCs. Bobby Thompson and Michael Caine form the Team HARD with Trade Price Cars half of the garage.

Season Results

Bobby Thompson

Event Session Position
Brands Hatch Indy Qualifying 27th
Race 1 19th
Race 2 DNF
Race 3 26th
Donington Park Qualifying 24th
Race 1 20th
Race 2 24th
Race 3 20th
Thruxton Qualifying 30th
Race 1 26th
Race 2 20th
Thruxton Race 3 22nd

Michael Caine

Event Session Position
Brands Hatch Indy Qualifying 30th
Race 1 21st
Race 2 24th
Race 3 24th
Donington Park Qualifying 32nd
Race 1 24th
Race 2 27th
Race 3 19th
Thruxton Qualifying 28th
Race 1 DNF
Race 2 DNF
Thruxton Race 3 25th

Team Stats

Races: 166
Wins: 0
Podiums: 4

Team Info

Team Principal: Tony Gilham
Team Address: c/o Team HARD Racing Ltd, Unit 5, Woodstock Farm Business Park, Gabriel Spring Road, Longfield, Kent, DA3 8PJ


Latest Tweets