Jordan joins list of 2016 winners

Andrew Jordan has joined a list of seven different race winners from the opening eight BTCC races in the 2016 season, after the Pirtek Racing driver produced an impressive drive at Thruxton.

Adam Morgan made a steady getaway from pole position and the WIX Racing driver coped well with the maximum success ballast in the first half of the race. Jordan had nipped by Tom Ingram off the line and worse was to come for the latter when he was adjudged by officials to have jumped the start.

A subsequent drive through penalty for Ingram forced him out of the fight as a gaggle of five cars moved into contention. Morgan led from Jordan and the WSR trio of Rob Collard, Jack Goff and Sam Tordoff with the BMWs coming alive in the battle for victory.

The moment of truth came on lap 11 as Jordan scythed his way past Morgan, with the Mercedes finally struggling with the weight. Morgan was shuffled down again by Collard’s Team JCT600 with GardX BMW, but he fended off further attacks from the now trio of cars behind him.

Incredibly Halfords Yuasa Racing’s Gordon Shedden had hauled his Honda onto the lead quintet in the closing stages, having started from the back of the grid. While Jordan was busy taking the lead, Shedden caught Goff and Tordoff napping to slip into fourth place.

Eurotech Racing had all three of its drivers in the top ten at one stage but its two more experienced drivers would face heartache. Jeff Smith ran wide at high speed and left the circuit while Martin Depper retired late on. There was some respite with rookie Dan Lloyd, however, who drove brilliantly to secure seventh place and Jack Sears Trophy honours in the process.

Motorbase Performance’s Mat Jackson took eighth ahead of Goodestone Racing’s Dan Welch, who enjoyed his best result since Silverstone 2013. There was further joy for the plucky Welch when his number was picked at random in the reverse grid draw by Andy Priaulx, meaning the Proton racer will start the finale from pole position.

Handy Motorsport’s Rob Austin rounded out the top ten, ahead of Matt Neal and Josh Cook, who were both recovering from earlier disappointment in race one.

2016 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Round 8 – Thruxton

1 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) Motorbase Performance 12 laps
2 Robert COLLARD (GBR) Team JCT600 Racing with GardX +0.401s
3 Adam MORGAN (GBR) WIX Racing 1.791s
Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +1.978s
Jack GOFF (GBR) Team IHG Rewards Club +2.786s
Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Team JCT600 Racing with GardX +3.017s
Daniel LLOYD (GBR) Eurotech Racing +10.738s
Mat JACKSON (GBR) Motorbase Performance +6.201s
9 Daniel WELCH (GBR) Goodstone Racing +7.034s
10 Rob AUSTIN (GBR) Handy Motorsport +7.260s
11 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +7.423s
12 Josh COOK (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +7.921s
13 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +8.371s
14 Michael EPPS (GBR) RCIB Insurance Racing +8.399s
15 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +8.605s
16 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +9.470s
17 Jake HILL (GBR) RCIB Insurance Racing +12.099s
18 Aron SMITH (IRL) BKR +13.777s
19 Alex MARTIN (GBR) Dextra Racing +16.312s
20 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +16.680s
21 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmD +16.825s
22 Chris SMILEY (GBR) TLC Racing +20.421s
23 Kelvin FLETCHER (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +24.414s
24 Stewart LINES (GBR) Maximum Motorsport +26.094s
25 Jeff SMITH (GBR) Eurotech Racing +34.136s
26 Mark HOWARD (GBR) BKR +39.363s
27 Martin DEPPER (GBR) Eurotech Racing +1 lap
28 Hunter ABBOTT (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +7 laps

More to follow…


Latest Tweets

2023 Driver Standings Full Standings