Shedden seals race three win

Halfords Yuasa Racing scored a one-two finish in the final BTCC encounter at Oulton Park as Gordon Shedden led home team-mate Matt Neal across the line.

The win wasn’t without incident however, as contact between Shedden and the pole-sitting Ford Focus of Josh Cook left the former with broken suspension and out of the race.

BMW Pirtek Racing’s Andrew Jordan had already assumed the lead by that point, but Shedden’s move for victory was an act of class as he scythed his way past at Cascades following a mid-race safety car period.

Neal immediately followed suit and the Honda duo went on to take the laurels ahead of Jordan’s BMW 125i M Sport.

“That’s an important win for us and a lovely end to the day,” said Shedden. “It was a pretty chaotic race out there. I had an off yesterday and the team did a magnificent job to repair the car. We get the plaudits but the boys deserve all the credit for this one.”

Ashley Sutton produced an heroic defensive effort to claim fourth as he fended off the charging Team BMW pair of Colin Turkington and Rob Collard. Turkington had been fighting back through the order all day after electrical gremlins ended his race one challenge. He claimed 13th from the back of the grid in race two, before making a number of stellar moves in the final showdown to take a hard earned fifth place finish.

Handy Motorsport’s Rob Austin secured another consistent result with seventh, ahead of the VWs of Michael Epps and Jake Hill. Luke Davenport put in a hugely impressive performance to claim his first ever top ten finish for Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo, also netting him a maiden Jack Sears Trophy triumph.

A number of cars were in the wars, including Aiden Moffat’s Mercedes, whose accident following contact with Dave Newsham’s Chevrolet brought about the aforementioned spell behind the safety car.

2017 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Round 12 – Oulton Park

1 Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +18 laps
Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.279s
Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +1.722s
Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +4.272s
5 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +4.375s
6 Rob COLLARD (GBR) Team BMW +4.590s
Rob AUSTIN (GBR) Handy Motorsport +5.509s
8 Michael EPPS (GBR) Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing +7.045s
9 Jake HILL (GBR) TAG Racing +8.418s
10 Luke DAVENPORT (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +8.736s
11 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +9.077s
12 Daniel LLOYD (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +9.414s
13 Dave NEWSHAM (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +9.789s
14 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing +10.248s
15 Jack GOFF (GBR) Eurotech Racing +10.605s
16 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +11.412s
17 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport +12.041s
18 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) with Cobra Exhausts +12.099s
19 Tom CHILTON (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +12.505s
20 Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +13.958s
21 Ant WHORTON-EALES (GBR) with Cobra Exhausts +15.882s
22 Will BURNS (GBR) Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing +16.766s
23 Martin DEPPER (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +19.397s
24 Jeff SMITH (GBR) Eurotech Racing +19.419s
25 Aron TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +27.750s
26 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +33.920s
27 Josh PRICE (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +1 lap
NC James COLE (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +5 laps
DNF Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +11 laps
DNF Josh COOK (GBR) Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport +15 laps
DNF Mat JACKSON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo
DNS Adam MORGAN (GBR) Ciceley Motorsport


Latest Tweets

2023 Driver Standings Full Standings