Rory Butcher claimed his first Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship win of the season after long-time race leader Dan Lloyd spun out on the final lap when something seemingly broke on his Team HARD-run Cupra.

Pole-sitter Lloyd had dealt with every challenge that the reversed-grid had thrown at him – including a safety car period and late surge from Butcher – but incredibly with just half a lap to go his Autobrite Direct with Millers Oils car spun wildly into the gravel on the run out of McLean’s.

It was heartbreak for Lloyd, but a huge win for Butcher, as both drivers demonstrated the emotional highs and lows of the BTCC.

It was a much needed victory for TOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK after a frustrating season at times and a real boost for talented multiple-race winner Butcher, who fought back the tears during his post-race interview live on ITV4.

There were more celebrations on the podium as CarStore Power Maxed Racing’s Aron Taylor-Smith returned to the rostrum for the first time in seven years, whilst Team BMW’s Adam Morgan bounced back from a difficult mid-season to grab his own piece of silverware.

Ricky Collard finished fourth to double the joy for TOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK, whilst the championship top four – Ash Sutton (NAPA Racing UK), Colin Turkington (Team BMW), Tom Ingram (BRISTOL STREET MOTORS with EXCELR8) and Jake Hill (Laser Tools Racing with MB Motorsport) – were next in the order after an eye-catching tussle throughout.

NAPA Racing UK’s Sam Osbourne was ninth, whilst Team BMW’s Stephen Jelley ensured that all four WSR cars finished inside the top ten.

Rory Butcher said: “We joked about it – ‘you’ve done this before. You can do it again. We’re not leaving Donington without silverware.’

“That’s the teamwork we’ve got back at base. So happy to see Ricky [Collard], the way he is driving at the moment, and George [Gamble] is on the cusp there of making a breakthrough as well. It’s like nothing I’ve ever experienced before. We share data, we’re really open, we champion each other. It’s great.”

Árón Taylor-Smith said: “This is unbelievable. There have been some dark moments over the last few years trying to get back to this point and I just want to thank everyone for believing in me.

“Everyone in the team gave me the opportunity and I’m so happy to repay them. First time back on the podium in seven years and I’ve forgotten what that champagne tastes like.”

Adam Morgan said: “That’s a nice way to finish. It has been a tough weekend, but when you finish on the podium the drive home is happier.

“It was hard work. I don’t know what happened to Dan [Lloyd] but I feel for him with that last lap. I could see him snaking and I thought he was just going to come across and take me out, so I was nervous. Overall though, just chuffed to bits to end up on the podium.”

2023 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship – Round 24 – Donington Park GP

1. Rory Butcher, TOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK 15 laps
2. Árón Taylor-Smith, CarStore Power Maxed Racing +0.357s
3. Adam Morgan, Team BMW +0.637s
4. Ricky Collard, TOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK +1.750s
5. Ashley Sutton, NAPA Racing UK +2.621s
6. Colin Turkington, Team BMW +3.338s
7. Tom Ingram, BRISTOL STREET MOTORS with EXCELR8 +4.004s
8. Jake Hill, Laser Tools Racing with MB Motorsport +6.236s
9. Sam Osborne, NAPA Racing UK +7.496s
10. Stephen Jelley, Team BMW +7.801s
11. Andrew Watson, CarStore Power Maxed Racing +10.030s
12. Tom Chilton, BRISTOL STREET MOTORS with EXCELR8 +11.031s
13. George Gamble, TOYOTA GAZOO Racing UK +11.096s
14. Dexter Patterson, Re.Beverages and Bartercard with Team HARD +11.769s
15. Ronan Pearson, BRISTOL STREET MOTORS with EXCELR8 +12.055s
16. Mikey Doble, CarStore Power Maxed Racing +13.439s
17. Michael Crees, Autobrite Direct with Millers Oils +15.125s
18. Aiden Moffat, One Motorsport with Starline Racing +19.195s
19. Jade Edwards, One Motorsport with Starline Racing +19.197s
20. Nick Halstead, BRISTOL STREET MOTORS with EXCELR8 +20.983s
21. Jack Butel, Go-Fix with Autoaid Breakdown +1 lap
22. Daniel Rowbottom, NAPA Racing UK +1 lap
DNF. Daniel Lloyd, Autobrite Direct with Millers Oils 
DNF. Josh Cook, One Motorsport with Starline Racing 
DNF. Daryl DeLeon, Re.Beverages and Bartercard with Team HARD 


Latest Tweets

2023 Driver Standings Full Standings