Key rules and regulations


Key rules and regulations


A brief overview of some of the key rules and regulations, with full 2021 Sporting and Technical Regulations available as a download at the bottom of this page:

Technical Overview

All cars have been built to the same NGTC regulations. First introduced in 2011 for an initial five-year period, these technical regulations are designed to dramatically reduce the design, build and running costs of the cars and engines. Only NGTC cars are now eligible to compete in the BTCC. TOCA extended these regulations for a further six years from 2016.

NGTC allows independent teams to compete on a level playing field against manufacturer-backed efforts by keeping costs down whilst at the same time rewarding precise engineering and all-important split-second strategy.

The foundation for NGTC is an emphasis on some common components – turbo, wastegate, intercoolers, ECU (engine control unit), instrumentation and dash, power management system, six-speed sequential gearbox, fuel tanks, differential, subframe, steering, brakes, clutch, wheels, dampers and suspension – which dramatically drives down costs for teams looking to compete in one of the world’s most attractive motor sport arenas.

Teams have the option of running either TOCA’s unbranded NGTC-spec engine or, whether privateer or full manufacturer-backed entries, developing their own powerplant to the regulations, as long as it is from the same ‘family’ as their chosen model of car – all are 350+bhp 2-litre turbo-charged engines.


Entry to the BTCC requires a TOCA BTCC Licence (TBL).

  • 30 permanent TBLs are available to teams
  • Teams may sell, gift, lease, assign or loan their TBL to other existing teams or eligible new entries on a season-long basis only, subject to the approval of TOCA as to the integrity of both recipient and transaction

Race Weekend Format

There are 10 events in the current season, with each event run across a weekend (Saturday and Sunday).

  • On Saturday there are two Free Practice sessions of 40 minutes and one Qualifying session of 30 minutes, with the exception of Donington Park, Snetterton and Silverstone.
  • Following the successful implementation of the new qualifying format at Snetterton, the ‘Top Ten Showdown’ format will be replicated at Donington Park, Snetterton and Silverstone in 2021. Replacing the usual 30-minute session, drivers will have a marginally reduced window of 25 minutes to record their lap times. Following a short five-minute break, the fastest ten competitors will then progress to a ten-minute pole position ‘Top Ten Showdown’ session to determine the top ten places on the grid. 
  • On Sunday there are three BTCC races of equal distance

The points system is 20-17-15-13-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 for the top 15 finishers. This method of scoring is also be applied to independent drivers’ and teams’ championship and the overall teams’ – see full regs for details.

Single bonus points are awarded for the fastest qualifier, fastest lap in each race and for leading a lap during races.

Goodyear Tyres

The ‘Option’ tyre will be phased back-in at four of the ten scheduled 2021 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship events.
2020 saw the option tyre format temporarily shelved due to the hectic schedule of events, which gave teams additional workloads through reduced staffing and more logistical challenges than a regular season.
With the 2021 BTCC campaign expected to return to normal protocols, Oulton Park, Croft and Snetterton will see the Goodyear soft tyre used as the ‘Option’ tyre, whilst the Goodyear medium compound is the selected ‘Option’ tyre at Knockhill.
Across the four events, the ‘Option’ tyre must be used at least once during race one, race two and race three – ensuring a variation of strategies.
Teams do not have to specify before qualifying, the race in which they will use their ‘Option’ tyre, with all choices being declared upon cars leaving the pit-lane.
Only the Goodyear medium tyre will be allocated for events at Brands Hatch (x2), Donington Park and Silverstone, whilst only the hard compound will be utilised at Thruxton (x2). 

‘Option’ compounds

Soft: Oulton Park, Croft and Snetterton*

*Teams to decide which tyre combination to nominate ten days in advance.

Medium: Knockhill – with the Soft compound being the ‘Standard’ tyre

The Hard compound tyre is the sole dry tyre to be used at Thruxton.

The Medium compound tyre is the sole dry tyre to be used at Brands Hatch Indy, Donington Park, Silverstone and Brands Hatch GP.

Race grids

  • The grid for race one is decided during Saturday’s qualifying session (note different qualifying format for Snetterton)
  • The grid for race two is based on the finishing order of race one
  • The grid for race three is based on finishing positions, however there is also a reversed-grid element to the starting order. Numbers representing the cars that finished from sixth to 12th position in race two are put into a bowl, and one number is drawn at random. The corresponding car will start on pole, with the cars that finished ahead of it reversed i.e. if number six is chosen, the car that finished sixth in race two will start from pole ahead of the car that finished fifth, fourth, third etc. The remainder of the grid follows as per the finishing order of race two

Success Ballast

Cars that are successful in the BTCC must carry ballast (additional weight) in their cars.

Maximum success ballast will be increased to 75 kilograms for 2021, thereafter reducing in 9kg increments down to tenth place as follows:
1st:       75kgs                 
2nd:     66kgs                 
3rd:      57kgs                 
4th:      48kgs                 
5th:      39kgs                 
6th:      33kgs    
7th:       27kgs                 
8th:       21kgs                 
9th:       15kgs
10th:     9kgs   

  • Between events, ballast is allocated according to championship positions and is carried in qualifying and race one
  • For races two and three, ballast is allocated according to the finishing positions in race one and two respectively

Jack Sears Trophy

Eligible drivers will be those that have never scored an outright podium position. Any driver subsequently scoring an outright podium during the season, will be ineligible for the JST from the next season. Previous overall JST winners are ineligible.

Click here to download the full 2021 Sporting and Technical Regulations

PLEASE NOTE: These regulations may be amended by TOCA during the course of the season with all teams and officials notified of any changes via official championship bulletins.



Latest Tweets

2021 Driver Standings Full Standings