The family-run Team Dynamics outfit first entered the BTCC in 1991, since when, the father-and-son pairing of Steve and Matt Neal has gone on to achieve incredible success with the former at the helm and the latter behind the wheel. In 1999, Neal became the first Independent driver to win a race outright in the Super Touring era, and Team Dynamics hasn’t looked back since.

Neal claimed back-t0-back Drivers’ crowns in 2005 and 2006 in a ‘Team Halfords’ branded Honda Integra Type-R, with Team Dynamics similarly securing the Teams’ trophy in both seasons. Official Manufacturer support from Honda arrived in 2010 – prompting a rebrand as ‘Honda Racing Team’ – with Neal adding a third Drivers’ title to his career CV the following year, this time in a Honda Civic. The squad was re-baptised again as ‘Honda Yuasa Racing’ in 2012, as Gordon Shedden sped to Drivers’ glory for the first time.

The Scot came tantalisingly close to retaining the laurels in 2013, before a switch from the Civic hatchback to the new Civic Tourer model for 2014 presented Team Dynamics with a different challenge. Characteristically, the team remained a firm contender and made history with the first podiums and wins for an estate-style car in the BTCC.

2015 was another historic year for Honda in the series, as the hotly-anticipated Civic Type R piloted by Neal and Shedden raced to the Manufacturers’ laurels, with the latter clinching a second Drivers’ crown in dramatic fashion in the season finale.

The pair partnered each other for the seventh successive campaign as Halfords returned to the Honda Racing fold in 2016, precipitating a name change to ‘Halfords Yuasa Racing’. At the end of a nail-biting season, Shedden sealed the honours for the second consecutive year at Brands Hatch GP, with team-mate Neal only ruled out of title contention by a sizeable impact with the circuit barriers.

Both triple champions remained on-board in 2017 and notched five wins between them. Neither, though, could sustain a title tilt as far as the Brands Hatch finale.

For 2018, the Team Dynamics-run squad entered the new-generation Honda Civic Type R (FK8) as multiple Porsche Carrera Cup GB champion Dan Cammish joined alongside Neal.

The Yorkshireman immediately showed his pace – only denied pole position in qualifying for the Brands Hatch Indy curtain-raiser after falling foul of a pit-lane red light. His first podium came at Thruxton and he notched his maiden victory – immediately followed by another – in the Brands Hatch GP finale, ending the campaign inside the top ten in the Drivers’ standings.

Neal narrowly outscored Cammish by five points to place ninth overall, sealing the honours in the BTCC’s celebratory 60th anniversary ‘Diamond Double’ race at Snetterton as the multiple champion etched his name into the series’ history books once again.

The duo returned for 2019 and together brought home the Teams’ Championship, while a mechanical failure on the penultimate lap of the final race of the season cruelly denied Cammish the coveted Drivers’ crown by just two points.

Halfords Yuasa Racing stuck with an unchanged line-up in 2020, concluding the year second in the Teams’ battle with Cammish third in the Drivers’ battle following a highly competitive campaign.

During the 2021 season, we saw Gordon Shedden make his BTCC return with Halfords Racing with Cataclean, adding to his tally of victories to clinch his 50th BTCC win. Team-mate Dan Rowbottom headed into his sophomore year in the championship alongside the three-time champion and proved his affinity with the Honda Civic Type R, sealing Jack Sears Trophy honours during the penultimate event of the campaign.

In 2022, we see Halfords Racing with Cataclean continue with its potent duo of Rowbottom and Shedden, as it joins the Manufacturers’/Constructors’ battle for the upcoming campaign.


Season Results

Daniel Rowbottom

Donington ParkQualifying9th
Race 19th
Race 212th
Race 3DNF
Brands Hatch IndyQualifying10th
Race 110th
Race 2DNF
Race 322nd
Race 15th
Race 25th
Race 34th
Oulton ParkQualifying6th
Race 19th
Race 226th
Race 312th
Race 13rd
Race 25th
Race 3DNF
Race 128th
Race 215th
Race 313th
Race 18th
Race 28th
Race 310th
Thruxton 2Qualifying8th
Race 17th
Race 27th
Race 36th
Race 118th
Race 218th
Race 318th

Gordon Shedden

Donington ParkQualifying6th
Race 13rd
Race 21st
Race 39th
Brands Hatch IndyQualifying11th
Race 18th
Race 26th
Race 311th
Race 124th
Race 211th
Race 3DNF
Oulton ParkQualifying8th
Race 16th
Race 25th
Race 34th
Race 1DNF
Race 212th
Race 31st
Race 17th
Race 25th
Race 36th
Race 110th
Race 2DNF
Race 315th
Thruxton 2Qualifying5th
Race 12nd
Race 23rd
Race 39th
Race 14th
Race 23rd
Race 38th


2021 Jack Sears Trophy 
 BTCC Teams’ Champions
2018 BTCC Jack Sears Trophy
2016 BTCC Drivers’ Champions
2015 BTCC Drivers’ & Teams’ Champions
2013 BTCC Manufacturers’ & Teams’ Champions
2012 BTCC Drivers’, Manufacturers’ & Teams’ Champions
2011 BTCC Drivers’, Manufacturers’ & Teams’ Champions
2010 BTCC Teams’ & Manufacturers’ Champions
2006 BTCC Drivers’ & Teams’, plus Independent Drivers’ & Teams’ Champions
2005 BTCC Drivers’ & Teams’, plus Independent Drivers’ & Teams’ Champions
2000 BTCC Independent Drivers’ Champions (Michelin Independents Cup)
1999 BTCC Independent Drivers’ Champions (Michelin Independents Cup)
1995 BTCC Independent Drivers’ Champions (Total Cup for Privateers)
1993 BTCC Independent Drivers’ Champions (TOCA Challenge Cup)

Team Stats

Team: Halfords Racing with Cataclean
Car: Honda Civic Type R
Drivers: Gordon Shedden & Dan Rowbottom
First Season: 1993

Races: 767
Wins: 123
Podiums: 349

Fastest Laps: 112

First Win: 1999
Constructors Wins: 4
Championship Wins: 6

Team Info

Team Principal: Steve Neal
Phone:  01905 793800
Team Address: Team Dynamics Motorsport, Unit 22 – West Stone, Berry Hill Industrial Estate, Droitwich, Worcestershire, WR9 9AS

Team Images


Latest Tweets

2022 Driver Standings Full Standings