Team HARD first entered the BTCC in 2012, running a Honda Civic and Vauxhall Insignia under the RCIB Insurance Racing banner. Team founder Tony Gilham, Howard Fuller, Robb Holland and Aaron Williamson assumed driving duties, with Gilham achieving the squad’s best result with a top three finish at Donington Park in the Civic.

The team replaced the Civic with a Volkswagen CC in 2013, which Tom Onslow-Cole piloted to three podium finishes, while Jack Goff added to the rostrum tally in the Insignia as ten drivers competed for Team HARD over the course of the campaign.

After sitting out 2014, the squad returned for 2015 with a pair of Toyota Avensis’ for Gilham and Kieran Gallagher, expanding to a third car the following season. Jake Hill and Michael Epps competed for RCIB Insurance Racing, with Chris Smiley – subsequently replaced by Michael Caine and later Gilham – taking to the grid for TLC Racing.

Hill and Epps remained on-board in 2017, joined by BTCC newcomer Will Burns as the team traded in the Toyotas for a trio of VW CCs.

In 2018, the squad fielded four facelifted CCs. Hill and Mike Bushell formed the Trade Price Cars with Brisky Racing half of the garage, as Hill scored a best-yet result for driver and team alike with second place in the Brands Hatch Indy opener.

Goff, meanwhile, signed a last-minute deal to join Carl Boardley in the RCIB Insurance with Fox Transport half of the Team HARD stable. An unchanged driver combination yielded a breakthrough victory at Silverstone in 2019 as Goff capitalised on a wet/dry contest to storm through the field to win from 21st on the grid. Bobby Thompson and Michael Crees ran under the GKR Scaffolding with Autobrite Direct banner.

Goff led the team in 2020 and stayed at the helm in 2021, partnered by series returnee Glynn Geddie, as the Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct squad’s pair of all-new Cupra Leons hit the track.

Jack Mitchell joined the team in the place of Geddie from Oulton Park onwards after the Scot announced his departure from the series during the summer break.

Bobby Thompson headed Autobrite Direct with JourneyHero’s efforts in 2022, after a year away from the series. Quickly showing his confidence in the Cupra Leon, Thompson bagged a hat-trick of points finishes during Donington Park’s opener, before securing a maiden podium during his local event at Brands Hatch. He went on to drive a consistent campaign throughout, to ultimately take home the Jack Sear Trophy with two rounds remaining.

In 2023, Team HARD. Racing has partnered Millers Oils to face this year’s Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship. The outfit will field two entries for the campaign, including Bobby Thompson and Dan Lloyd.


Season Results

Bobby Thompson

Donington Park NationalQualifying22nd
Race 116th
Race 210th
Race 36th
Brands Hatch IndyQualifying7th
Brands Hatch IndyTOP TEN SHOWDOWN6th
Race 16th
Race 211th
Race 32nd
Race 116th
Race 220th
Race 312th
Race 110th
Race 2DNF
Race 3DNS

Dan Lloyd

Donington Park NationalQualifying12th
Race 119th
Race 213th
Race 318th
Brands Hatch IndyQualifying9th
Brands Hatch IndyTOP TEN SHOWDOWN9th
Race 110th
Race 214th
Race 311th
Race 115th
Race 210th
Race 317th
Race 1NC
Race 221st
Race 318th

Team Stats

Team: Autobrite Direct with Millers Oils
Car: Cupra Leon
Drivers: Bobby Thompson & Dan Lloyd
First Season: 2012

Races: 72
Wins: 0
Podiums: 3

Poles: 0
Fastest Laps: 0
Points: 264

Team Info

Team Principal: Tony Gilham
Team Address: c/o Team HARD Racing Ltd, Unit 5, Woodstock Farm Business Park, Gabriel Spring Road, Longfield, Kent, DA3 8PJ


Latest Tweets

2023 Driver Standings Full Standings