NAPA Racing UK has assembled one of the most talented racing squad’s on the grid for its maiden BTCC campaign in 2022, having teamed up with the experienced Motorbase Performance, as well as naming champion Ash Sutton and former runner-up Dan Cammish as its drivers.

Based near Brands Hatch, Motorbase Performance has competed in the BTCC since 2006. Having raced Honda, SEAT and BMW machinery in the past, Motorbase has chosen the Ford Focus to contest the BTCC since 2011, propelling it to multiple victories and podium finishes.

Mat Jackson was a consistent contender in 2014 and whilst Motorbase sat out the opening half of 2015 on financial grounds, when the squad returned mid-season, Jackson tallied four victories and four further rostrums from the final five race weekends. He was joined by former BTCC champion Andrew Jordan in 2016 for a full-on title attack.

As it transpired, Motorbase achieved its best yet in the BTCC in 2016, securing both Independent Teams’ and Independent Drivers’ honours via Jordan.

For 2017, the outfit underwent a rebrand – with a striking new look – following the addition of Shredded Wheat as title sponsor across all three cars. Jackson returned for an eighth consecutive season with the Kent-based operation, accompanied by the experienced Martin Depper and new boy Luke Davenport.

In 2018, Motorbase introduced the newly-facelifted Ford Focus RS, with Tom Chilton partnered by James Cole at Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher and Sam Tordoff lining up for Team GardX Racing with Motorbase. Chilton drove consistently well on the way to third in the Drivers’ Championship, with a victory at Knockhill, while the rapid Tordoff was routinely out of luck but nonetheless tallied a win and a further podium at Silverstone.

Chilton remained with the team in 2019, joined by Ollie Jackson and Nicolas Hamilton, the latter competing under the ROKiT Racing with Motorbase banner for the first eight events before Michael Caine got behind the wheel for the final six rounds.

The team raced the new Ford Focus ST in 2020, with a three-car line-up comprising Rory Butcher, Ollie Jackson and Andy Neate. The squad enjoyed a strong campaign with Jackson taking his first and second BTCC race wins, and Butcher a title contender heading into the final rounds.

A new look for 2021 sees the team racing under the Racing with Wera & Photon Group banner, with Andy Neate and Sam Osborne heading its BTCC attack, as well as a sister MB Motorsport outfit.

Now, a fresh multi-year deal alongside NAPA UK from 2022 brings with it an exciting new dawn for the outfit, ultimately cementing the squad as a genuine title contender.


Season Results

Ashley Sutton

Donington ParkQualifying3rd
Race 14th
Race 26th
Race 32nd
Brands Hatch IndyQualifying18th
Race 19th
Race 24th
Race 36th
Race 13rd
Race 23rd
Race 33rd
Oulton ParkQualifying5th
Race 12nd
Race 22nd
Race 316th
Race 16th
Race 26th
Race 3NC
Race 12nd
Race 21st
Race 35th

Dan Cammish

Donington ParkQualifying28th
Race 116th
Race 221st
Race 313th
Brands Hatch IndyQualifying8th
Race 13rd
Race 22nd
Race 310th
Race 125th
Race 218th
Race 319th
Oulton ParkQualifying7th
Race 15th
Race 26th
Race 36th
Race 113th
Race 213th
Race 38th
Race 19th
Race 29th
Race 3DNF


2019 BTCC Independent Drivers’ & Teams’ Champions

Team Stats

Team: NAPA Racing UK
Car: Ford Focus ST
Drivers: Ash Sutton & Dan Cammish 
First Season: 2010

Races: 242
Wins: 4
Podiums: 32

Poles: 2
Fastest Laps: 5
Points: 1321

Team Info

Team Principal: Pete Osborne
Phone: 01732 822266
Team Address: Motorbase, Unit 2, Tower Industrial Estate, London Road, Wrotham, Kent, TN15 7NS


Latest Tweets

2022 Driver Standings Full Standings